Dohertys Road Dragons

Dohertys Road Dragon

One of the reasons I write about ‘InvisibleMelbourne’ is because I don’t feel that the city is always accurately or fairly represented.

In particular, I don’t feel the western suburbs receive the respect or recognition that they deserve.

For example, I have been looking at two very fine books about Melbourne today; ‘The Melbourne Book’ by Maree Coote and ‘Go! Melbourne in the Sixties’ by Seamus O’Hanlon and Tanja Luckins.

Both books are fantastic, but references to the west are few and far between.

So, as part of my program of affirmative action, I have another blog today about the western suburbs.

When I heard that a scrap metal yard had erected 2 giant sculptures of dragons, I knew I had to go and take some shots. However, it was a huge mistake to go there on my bike.

Dohertys Road is notoriously dangerous. As a rider you have to choose between staying on the single lane road with massive trucks going past, or going through the mud on the road’s edge. I chose the mud, even though the truck drivers were universally professional and courteous.

It was worth the trip just to get a few images of this far flung part of Melbourne’s vibrant art scene.

So well done to Norstar Steel Recyclers http://www.norstar.com.au, and well done to the unknown artist. (please comment if you know who it is.)
If you are interested in the campaign to make Dohertys Road safer check out the petition at http://www.foxdohertysrd.com.au.

And if you want to take a look for yourself, the number 400 bus between Sunshine and Laverton will get you there.

Leave a comment